Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeUncategorizedNMC by-election to be held tomorrow

NMC by-election to be held tomorrow

Nashik: The by-election for two NMC wards which remained vacant following resignations by corporators to contest assembly elections will be held tomorrow (Jan 9). A total of 520 officials and employees have been appointed for the by-election and counting of votes.

- Advertisement -

The administration of Nashik Municipal Corporation has been geared up for the counting of votes. BJP corporator Saroj Ahire from ward number 22 and Shiv Sena corporator Dilip Datir from ward number 26 resigned as corporators to contest recently held state assembly elections.

Saroj Ahire who contested the elected on NCP ticket registered victory, while Dilip Datir who fought the election on the ticket of Maharashtra Navnirman Sena was defeated. As two seats in NMC remained vacant, the state Election Commission of India announced by-election on December 9, 2019.

Following the declaration of the by-election program on December 16, 2019, candidates from various parties and independents filed their nominations. The campaigning came to an end on Tuesday evening. The voting process will be held tomorrow between 7.30 am to 5.30 pm.

A total of 450 personnel (squad of 5 officials, employees each) will be appointed at 90 voting centers. The counting of votes will be held on January 10 and will begin at 10 am. A total of 60 employees ( 3 employees each at 20 tables) will be appointed for this. A total of 10 zonal officials will also be appointed.

A total of 14,753 women and 15,412 men, amounting to a total of 30,165 voters will exercise their votes in ward number 22, while 13,821 women and 19,059 men, amounting to a total of 32,880 voters will cast their votes in ward number 26.

- Advertisment -

ताज्या बातम्या